Sourdough and Mushrooms!

Its been an exciting week – our seeds have arrived for this seasons growing!! I am also off work this weekend so will have time to plan out where we’re going to plant everything. I want to start most of our seedlings at the start of February. The other new thing we’ve begun this week is our first ever sourdough starter.

This is definitely a year of firsts for us and trying new things in terms of growing and self sufficiency. I’m sure most other people have tried a starter at some point in their life but we hadn’t. This naturally means that I’m like a new proud parent and have been taking photos of it each day! 

Day 1- we started with a wholemeal flour and if it works I’d like to keep a wholemeal and all purpose flour starter going. 

Day 4- this is what it looks like today! I haven’t ever been so pleased to see bubbles in my life. The mixture is bubbling away nicely and has taken on that tangy scent since last night. 

I wasn’t confident that our starter would actually take off so I haven’t spent much time looking into what to do with it.. Until today. I have so far seen recipes for crisps, Pitta’s, waffles and pancakes. I want to try a foolproof recipe first though so will probably just start with a bread.

The other thing we received this week was our mushroom growing kits. We go through a ton of mushrooms in a year. I rarely cook a meal without them. They do however seem to be a bit fickle to grow. So for this first attempt we ordered some mushroom kits. They arrived on Friday and are currently progressing nicely through the first stages. Tomorrow should see the next step for growing them as we’ll cover the spores.

I’m excited to see if these will work however, unless they give an amazing harvest, it wouldn’t be financially worth it to grow them from scratch this way. Does anyone else grow mushrooms? Or have any tips for foraging them? I would love to be able to forage for mushrooms but I am terrified I will poison us! I’ve read a lot of articles and books on it but I still get worried when it comes to going out and getting them. This will maybe be the year to try it.

Anyway that’s what the adventures that the Arnolds have had this week =) its just going to keep getting busier we hope! X

Published by

debtfreearnolds

A married couple from Scotland. Debt free wannabees, future homesteaders and grow your own enthusiasts.

One thought on “Sourdough and Mushrooms!”

Leave a Reply

